About The MaineHealth ACO

The MaineHealth Accountable Care Organization is an independent LLC providing ACO services to over 1,400 providers and 10 hospitals in the MaineHealth system (11 Maine counties and one New Hampshire county) as well as private, independent provider groups.

With nearly 90 employees, the MaineHealth ACO is committed to supporting healthy individuals and healthy communities. Our ACO contracts cover more than 178,000 Medicare and commercial lives.

Click here to view the Medicare Shared Savings Program Public Reporting Information

Our Vision

To be a nationally recognized network of providers delivering high-quality, affordable care.

Our Mission

We engage and support providers, payers and community partners in advancing integrated, value-based patient care.

How We Work

The MaineHealth ACO team is committed to supporting our participants in ensuring patients get the right care at the right time, while removing redundant services and preventing medical errors. We have four key areas that provide support to our participants:

MaineHealth ACO Executive Leadership Team

Elizabeth Johnson, MD

President and Chief Executive Officer

With over 16 years of experience in healthcare leadership and 19 years of clinical practice experience in internal medicine, Dr. Betsy Johnson brings to the MaineHealth ACO her passion for building and supporting a community model of health care that is value-based, integrated, and patient-centered. Through teamwork and partnership across the health system, Betsy has helped facilitate the recent transition of the MMC Physician-Hospital Organization (PHO), Community Physicians of Maine (CPM) into an integrated ACO advocating for a culture of accountable care, provider engagement, transparency, and achievement of the Triple Aim.

Before coming to the ACO, Betsy served as Chief Medical Officer at Martin’s Point Health Care where in addition to leading the Quality Division for both the health plans and delivery system, she led the integration of three medical groups into one group employed model as well as their transformation toward patient-centered medical homes. Prior to that, Betsy served as Chief of Internal Medicine and Adult Urgent Care at the Kenmore Center, part of Harvard Vanguard Medical Associates in Boston.

Betsy holds a Master of Health Care Management from Harvard School of Public Health, an MD from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, and an AB from Bowdoin College. She currently serves on several boards including Quality Counts, Coverys, and holds the role as Chair of Onpoint Health Data.

Jeffrey Aalberg, MD, MS

Chief Medical Officer

Dr. Jeffrey Aalberg has been serving as a healthcare leader and practicing medicine for nearly 20 years. His deep commitment to promoting patient engagement and experience brings a singular focus to his central leadership role in MaineHealth ACO development and implementation. Jeffrey joined the MaineHealth Accountable Care Organization (formerly the MMC Physician-Hospital Organization) in 2009 and serves the organization as Chief Medical Officer. He is also the Senior Medical Director of Ambulatory Care for the MaineHealth System. In these roles, he oversees programs in care coordination, prevention, chronic disease, advanced primary care, palliative care, behavioral health, elder care, and post-acute care.

Prior to 2009, Jeffrey was the Medical Director of a large urban practice and residency training program serving 16,000 patients and overseeing care delivered by 40 physicians. He also served as Medical Consultant for MaineHealth from 2000 to 2009, supporting programs focused on infectious disease, pharmacy and supply chain management.

Jeffrey holds an MD degree from the University of Massachusetts, an MS degree from University of Oregon and a BS from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. He has completed advanced studies in physician leadership, Integrative Medicine and advanced procedure training and has a 2014 Family Medicine Board Certification. He has served on numerous Boards, and most recently joined the Southern Maine Agency on Agency Board of Directors. Jeffrey also serves as Associate Clinical Professor at Tufts School of Medicine.

Jennifer Moore, MBA

Chief Operating Officer

Jen has over 20 years of healthcare leadership and operations experience and is dedicated to building effective teams with a strong focus on strategy and organizational development.

Jen joined the MMC-Physician Hospital Organization (now the MaineHealth Accountable Care Organization) in 1999 and serves as Chief Operating Officer. In this role, she leads ACO operations including payer contracting, network management, data operations and analysis, performance improvement programs, and practice support activities. She also oversees all activities associated with the Medicare Shared Savings Program and several commercial ACO contracts.

Jen holds a Masters of Business Administration and serves on the Board of Directors for the National Association of ACOs (NAACOS.)

MaineHealth ACO Board of Directors

President & Chairman: Mike Albaum, MD

Senior Vice President & Chief Medical Officer at Southern Maine Health Care

Vice Chairman: Mark W. Fourre, MD

Chief Medical Officer at LincolnHealth

Secretary: Lugene Inzana 

Senior Vice President of Finance & Chief Financial Officer at Maine Medical Center 

Treasurer: Albert Swallow

Executive Vice President & Treasurer at MaineHealth

Board Members:

Joan Boomsma, MD 

Chief Medical Officer at MaineHealth 

Joel Botler, MD 

Chief Medical Officer at Maine Medical Center 

Michael H. Clark, MD

Family Practice Physician at Lifespan Family Healthcare

Kathleen Herlihy, MD

Pediatrician at Western Maine Pediatrics

Stephen Merz

President & Chief Executive Officer at Maine Behavioral Healthcare 

Daniel Landry, MD

President & Chairman of the Board at Spectrum Medical Group

 Scott D. Mills, MD

Vice President of Medical Staff Administration & Chief Medical Officer at Mid Coast-Parkview Health

Andrea Patstone

Senior Vice President, System Development at MaineHealth 

Richard W. Petersen

President & Chief Executive Officer at Maine Medical Center

Roger Pezzuti, MD

Nuclear Radiologist

Nathan Wilson, MD, F.A.C.P.

Vice President of Quality and Patient Safety at Southern Maine Health Care

MaineHealth ACO Committees and Committee Leadership

Value Oversight Committee: Cindy Wade and Dr. Nate Wilson, Co-chairs
Physician Engagement & Alignment Committee: Dr. Mike Clark, Chair
Nominating Committee: Dr. Michael Albaum, Chair and Dr. Mark Fourre, Vice Chair 
Executive Committee: Dr. Michael Albaum, Chair and Dr. Mark Fourre, Vice Chair 
Finance Committee: Albert Swallow and Dr. Michael Akom, Co-chairs
Contracting & Network Management Committee: Colin McHugh and Dr. Carl Demars, Co-chairs

Maine Health